Tags: , ,

Thinking of changing my business model: Adding a label to the equation
Mitch Connor
9th January 2014
Old 9th January 2014
Gear Head

Thinking of changing my business model: Adding a label to the equation

This winter marks the third official year of my location recording company. It's been an interesting ride, can't say too many bad things about it. Overall I am fairly happy and excited with where things are, or better yet, where they may end up going. Most of my time in the field has been spent with rock/live electronic/blues/jazz bands (no orchestral experience), some of which are small local acts, and others that are relatively big names in their respective genres. Interactions with my past clientele have been interesting to say the least. Sometimes I'm treated in a professional and respectful manner, and at other times, like I should be grateful for the the opportunity to record & mix their music.

I've learned a lot over the past years. For one, I know I'm not good at selling my services. I know what I'm worth (at least I think I do), but often feel very uncomfortable asking for my standard rate. Furthermore, I've done what many here have warned others not to do, and that is provide services at no cost to the client (to further build my portfolio and get exposure in different circles/genres). I've also learned over the years that some musicians get "cold feet" in a live recording setting just as some do in the studio. Now I try to be critical of myself and improve in areas that I have control of, but as in the case of poor performances, there's not much I can do.