Login / Register

Big Stage, Small Budget: A Plea for Assistance
New Reply
Subscribe
MilSF
17th August 2013
Old 17th August 2013
Gear interested

Question Big Stage, Small Budget: A Plea for Suggestions in Recording Opera and Musicals

The Situation
I'm looking to up my audio quality on the operas, musicals, and recitals I am video recording for my wife's university. As the subject indicates, it's a big stage, and my budget is rather low - $2000 for everything including cables. My apologies for the length of this post and if this is better answered in the Low End Theory forum. As it's live recording, I figured y'all would be the best to ask. I'm an audio noob, but I know enough to know I don't know enough I don't need stereo, but I will if it's possible. I will be able to go to a few of the dress rehearsals for the operas and musicals, so I will be trying to find good set and forget levels so I can focus on videography.

The Environment
There are two stages that I will be doing probably all the recording on:
Main Stage - 54x41x28 stage with an orchestra pit in a 1500 seat performing arts center. The directors love using quite a bit of the stage and not infrequently the floor in front of the stage. The diagrams below are of this stage.
Recital Stage - This is a roughly 40x20x20 stage in a 200 seat recital hall. The YouTube vids I link below are of this stage.

The Performers
The operas and musicals are fully staged with undergraduate vocalists and instrumentalists. Quite a few of them are actually quite good and rather loud. The principal cast is miked (forehead teardrops), but the chorus and orchestra are not. HOWEVER, we have no string section - the strings are played by keyboard. The productions are mixed for sound reinforcement, not recording, so I can't really just get a feed off of the house board. A good example of one of our recent students and the recording environment in the recital hall can be seen in the below aria and scene/musical theater piece.