help for grand piano recording in a small room
New Reply
Subscribe
yukiest
25th July 2013
Old 25th July 2013
Gear Head

help for grand piano recording in a small room

Hello, I’m a classical pianist, looking for a way to improve the audio quality of my recording. I often record for teaching purposes, and for releasing my own compositions on bandcamp, etc. My piano room is small, carpeted and my piano is Yahama grand C5A.

At the moment, I’m using a pair of AKG P420 feeding into Zoom H4n and add a bit of convolution reverb using SIR2 via Cubase LE4.

As you can you see, it’s a very primitive set-up at the moment. I understand my room is not best for recording either but I’d like to try getting more out of my AKG mics. And also I’m aware that investing in super high quality machines won’t change what the room acoustic can provide, so I try to be realistic not to look for something over the top.

I’m thinking of investing in mic preamp and a better recording medium.

Recently I came across with FMR Audio RNP 8380, which seem to be what I’m looking for; clean and transparent without colouration. I also came across a few times with DAV Electronics BG1. Have anyone used these for classical piano recording successfully?

What would be the best way to be able to use these type of mic preams?

1. via a quality audio interface (such as RME Firewire 400 & Steinberg MR816X) connected to PC? (I don’t use MAC) Any recommendation as to which maker and model?
2. connected to a reasonable quality digital recorder (such as Tascam R-680)?
3. Or will it worth going for something like Lavry Engineering AD11 for my AKG P420?

I don’t use PC for recording at the moment. If I were to use PC, what sort of spec it needs to have? I’m still very novice in the art of audio recording but I’m determined to learn to do better with improvement I can manage. So, I’d appreciate any comment, advice and insight. Thanks!

-----my recent recording sample-----------------------