The session goes overtime
New Reply
Subscribe
Zedmaniac
16th July 2013
Old 16th July 2013
Gear interested

The session goes overtime

Hey Fellow Forum Contributors, OK Im not sure if this is the best place to put this post but in the absence of seeing a more fitting category it goes here. Sorry for the length of this post.

I am a semi-pro audio tech. A good amount of experience however as theres really not enough money to be made in my area from audio I rely on other income streams and do few gigs.

I have just completed a remote recording project, sub contracting to a fella I used to do lotsa work with. He is a really good guy who I respect. Its the first gig Ive got from him in about five years cause the work in paid live recording just isnt around.

He was contracted to do audio tech/ stage production for a live video recording session. He took care of all the facets of the audio production except for the multitracking which was my area.

The client that contracted him without knowing I would get the recording gig is a fella Ive worked with before who is a nice enough guy but I think organisation is not his strength.
Six months ago he was at my home studio where I recorded a song for him. He got a song produced for free and I got a subject to test a new mic. He knows that I do audio and video production.

Anyhow so Ive been asked to quote for the remote recording and I name my rate for 3 hours to do tracking and another hour for setup, packdown and file transfer later on. $300.
My call time was 8.30pm.

I got to the venue and the client is waiting around and says the session is delayed and will go later than expected. After the punters leave for the previous event at 9.45pm I start helping my mate load his gear as a favour cause it will get me set up quicker.