Setup shortcuts
New Reply
Subscribe
Fizzyhair
4th July 2013
Old 4th July 2013
Lives for gear

Setup shortcuts

Ive been recording live music for nearly 10 years and I have a rather large console that I use for live sound and location recording. The problem is its too big to leave on the racks. it goes on top of a pair of 15u racks. But im getting tired of setting it all up every day. The console is connected to a patch bay via 6 8 way looms that is at the top of my racks. And then that patch bay connects the 2 racks also. But it's a time consuming job plugging in 32 Direct outs, XLRs, 10 busses 10 compressors returns effects sends, monitor ins and outs etc, and it's an occasional source for errors to be made especially when in a rush or with inexperienced crew.

Is there such a thing as a box I can plug everything into on the desk that connects to the rack via a single cat 5 or something or is there a loom with a big ass snap fit connector I can just undo and refit in one motion.

I don't mind doing the setup each time it's just time is money and all that.

Long Time Allen Heath and Presonus user!
4th July 2013
Old 4th July 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizzyhair View Post
Ive been recording live music for nearly 10 years and I have a rather large console that I use for live sound and location recording. The problem is its too big to leave on the racks. it goes on top of a pair of 15u racks. But im getting tired of setting it all up every day. The console is connected to a patch bay via 6 8 way looms that is at the top of my racks. And then that patch bay connects the 2 racks also. But it's a time consuming job plugging in 32 Direct outs, XLRs, 10 busses 10 compressors returns effects sends, monitor ins and outs etc, and it's an occasional source for errors to be made especially when in a rush or with inexperienced crew.