Tags: , ,

Small Portable Rig for Live Jazz Club Recordings
shawntp
7th March 2013
Old 7th March 2013
Gear nut

Small Portable Rig for Live Jazz Club Recordings

Hey folks, I will try to practice some minimal technical writing here to keep this brief...

Current:
  • I live 2 blocks from a small jazz Club (live Jazz every night, ~1000 sq/ft, 20-40 patrons max)
  • I have friends there playing in various bands on various instruments
  • I play jazz guitar through an amp and sit in at times
  • I have basic "home" experience with recording and gear (Mics/Preamps/DAWs) mostly track-at-a-time singer songwriter type stuff and mixing/mastering
  • I currently have no gear and am starting over from scratch (I have experience with and have owned all sorts of mics)

Goal:
  • To have a small/quick setup/versatile rig to capture gigs for my own performances and for friends (trios to quartets made up of a mix of Drum, Amped Upright Bass, Keys, Guitar, Sax, Trumpet)
  • The recording would just be for the sake of capture and casual listening/sharing/promotion
  • Not looking to commit to disc or sell - Just trying to capture the fun in high quality and have fun editing - possibly pair with some videos shot on SLR/etc

Ideas:
I just want to capture some of what I play and help out the local jazz scene and players. I am a software developer and I might also start helping some of these guys have better websites/etc. In general I just want do something to contribute to the music scene and help friends out.

I need a rig that sets up really quickly and that is made up of the minimal gear that would render a fun live jazz recording that people would really want to listen to.