Several pairs to choose from..Which is best for Piano/Organ?
Old 6th February 2013
Gear interested

Several pairs to choose from..Which is best for Piano/Organ?

Hello folks, I posted this in the Low End Theory board and a couple people advised me to post my question here to get the opinions of people who have/still actively record these instruments.

I have been researching and reading for quite a while now and I have narrowed it down to just 5 options, I think. I think my budget will be just about $500, but it is fairly flexibly. I am not technically making money from recording yet, nor are we(my pianist/organist friend and I) are in a great hurry so if it would be worth it I will just wait and save some extra money. The models I have narrowed it down to are Beyerdynamic MC930's, AT4041's, Rode NT5's, KSM 141's, and possibly Oktava MK-012's. I have read good things about all of these mics, but most every thread is about either guitar or drums OH's except for a few piano threads about MC930's. I plan to use these mics for mainly grand piano and pipe organ recording, but if I am able and the mics will fill the role then I would love to be able to use them for a small chamber group, solo string instruments, horns, guitar, or just about anything I need or want. I don't think I could afford Neumann's or Schoeps anytime soon but all of the options I listed seem very possible(except the MC930's unless I find a good deal for under $800 or so). I would love to hear some educated opinions and advice on any/all of these mics and in regards to the uses I mentioned. If someone has another suggestion for mics or if I really need to get a pre-amp(I'm not too sure if I need one, or what to get. I frankly know nothing about them) I will gladly hear any and all reasonable suggestions.