How long have you been mixing ITB?
Roland
30th January 2013
Old 30th January 2013
Lives for gear

How long have you been mixing ITB?

Now that almost all of us are using DAW's of one type or another, I thought it would be interesting to see how many are now mixing ITB and for how long they have been doing it.

I was looking back over a couple of CD's and DVD's that I recorded and realized that I've been mixing ITB since around 2000/2001. When it comes to digital workstations, I've been editing with computers since about 1990, recording with Hard disc and computer since around 1996.

I listened to a couple of recordings that I mixed using Logic Audio in 2001 and 2003, both were DVD's and the reason for mixing ITB was more a pragmatic one due to the need to generate surround mixes with complex muting and automation and be able to buss out surround without complicating things with a standard stereo buss desk that I owned at the time.

I do remember having set up the whole 2 hr session in Logic, I then saved the session as several sessions, one for each audio track, so that I could then mix them individually and then knock them back to the original master session to add the audience/ambience microphones and produce the final 5.1 session.

What I found most interesting is that they sounded pretty good, particularly when I considered that it was using 12 year old software on computers that by modern comparison would be painfully slow.

That's my experience, what's yours?
31st January 2013
Old 31st January 2013
Lives for gear

Full mixes in the box since '95 or so, premixes for a few years before that (to DA88). My last mix on a regular mixer here was in 1994. I went directly from a manual mix on an analog board to ITB mixing. We've never had a digital console in here.

philp
31st January 2013
Old 31st January 2013
Lives for gear