Which cards: KSM 141 or MC930?
dgpretzel
7th January 2013
Old 7th January 2013
Gear maniac

Which cards: KSM 141 or MC930?

Folks,

I am an amateur, and do location recording of local classical events such as wind ensembles, choirs, and student orchestras, etc.

I have been using wide cards (CM3) and omnis (various Naiant models) and would like to start expanding my personal mic resources.

Most of the spaces I record in are not the greatest, acoustically. Usually, I use the CM3's in a (pseudo) ORTF config, with a pair of omnis on the same bar, and placed somewhere within a few feet of the conductor, and about 10' to 12' high. If there are soloists, I may use spots. Usually, there is insufficient time for a good sound check.

I would like to acquire a pair of cards so I can have a true, good, ORTF configuration, which I plan to pretty much use everywhere. Then, I'll also have the ability to put up other kinds of pairs, knowing that I always have the ORTF as a safety net.

I have in mind either the KSM141 or Beyer Dynamics MC930. I think there is a 80% chance I will buy one of these.

There is also a 10% chance I will buy a pair of Sennheiser MKH8040's on the theory that I can "grow" into these, and can keep them forever.

I guess the last 10% of my purchase decision is reserved for the inevitable GS property that, when asked to "Pick one from these two choices", inevitably results in the, "Choose something else" suggestion.

Might anyone have any guiding comments?

Please, for purposes of commenting, COMPLETELY DISREGARD the price difference between KSM141 and MC930. I'm more concerned with which might be more suitable, without regard to price, for ORTF for classical, location, distant recording, for winds, strings, and choirs.