Tags:

Post mixing a live performance.
Old 30th December 2012
Gear interested

Post mixing a live performance.

Hi,

Firstly my apologies if this in the wrong forum, please move if that is the case.

Ok so my neighbor runs a glee/high school style choir, although it is not my type of thing I have to say the show is really impressive. The thing is she had her summer show recorded and filmed and has asked me (knowing I have a small project studio) if I would be interested in producing a CD of the show.

I normally produce EDM but know my way around a bit, not a complete novice however here is the thing;

She (or the people who recorded it) has/have supplied me with the wavs of the show. All the vocals recorded on various mics and the music. I assume it was recorded to a HD, it is all mono.

So I thought I would attack it as a whole show, and not single tracks, not sure if that is the right thing to do? But I am facing real problems getting it to sound right. Here is why...

1. It is soooo frikkin ambient! Is there anything I can do with the mic bleed on the vocal tracks? It is stacking up and making it sound like it was recorded in a big bathroom! I assume automation is my friend here? But where do I start?

2. The vocals alone are thin and and I do not know how to give them weight without affecting the bleed of the music.

3. By attacking the whole thing and not as single tracks I am struggling with levels, track to track.

I would really appreciate the help of other more qualified slutz... I kind of wish I had of said no, but I love a challenge... Seems like it may bite me on the ass...

Oh I am using Logic which I know is not ideal for this sort of thing, I do also own DP but I know Logic inside out...
Old 30th December 2012
Lives for gear