Tags: , ,

Recording a Jazz Combo: Advice
EvanMWharton
3rd December 2012
Old 3rd December 2012
Gear interested

Recording a Jazz Combo: Advice

Hello everybody. I am relatively new to the world of recording and would appreciate some help as I prepare for my first recording session.

I need to record a jazz combo consisting of:

Trumpet
Trombone
Drum Kit
Upright Bass
Guitar
Female Vocals

The mics I have available are:

2 Fathead II Ribbons
1 EV RE20
1 Sennheiser MD421
1 KSM32
1 SM57

I also have the pres from my Focusrite Liquid Saffire and PRO MPA II.

I plan on running the upright DI and possibly the guitar as well. I am thinking I will record the vocals separate with the KSM32. Thoughts?

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Led
3rd December 2012
Old 3rd December 2012
Led
Lives for gear

When you say the vocals separately, do you mean in another pass? If so, I'd say record them with the band instead. You're a bit short on mics, but if it were me I would skip the di's and go like this -
Fatheads as a pair over the drums, RE20 on the upright bass, MD421 on the brass, have them both play towards the one mic, KSM32 on vocal and 57 on guitar.
I'm not a fan of di stuff for jazz ensembles, but that's not to say it;s wrong, it's just my preference.
Good luck, have fun with it.
3rd December 2012
Old 3rd December 2012
Lives for gear

Get another 421 for the brass if you can, and you might try to give the singer a 58 to get bleed manageable, especially if it's a live performance and she's in front of the band.
Definitely go mic AND direct for the double bass. DI can get you some definition over drum bleed, mic gives you better sound if drums don't bleed too much.
Not sure if I'd go stereo for drums. Often just one mic in the "near the drummer's right ear" position works fine, when there is enough bleed in the other mics to add space.
3rd December 2012
Old 3rd December 2012
Lives for gear

Where will this recording take place?
EvanMWharton