New Reply
Subscribe
ersheff
23rd October 2012
Old 23rd October 2012
Lives for gear

advice on hanging stereo mic/pre pair for hall

Howdy.
I'm a somewhat experienced audio amateur, primarily in studio recording and not live/remote recording, that's in a technology position in the college of arts at a small state university.
We've got some money available (oh happy day!) to improve the recording setup in our main recital hall. (I should mention that recording/audio is not my main thing here, but I'm trying to help out)
Currently, we have a pair of old U87's hanging in the hall just in front of the stage in an ORTF arrangement. They go into the built-in pres on a MOTU 828 mkII.
There is a faculty member on campus that has a pair of Earthworks QTC40's and the Earthworks 1024 pre that sometimes does recordings for music faculty performances. Everyone is really happy with the sound of his product, so we naturally gravitated towards that same gear to upgrade our recital hall system.
However, I'm wondering if a hanging pair of omni mics is really the best idea.
It's a pretty live hall.
(I should also mention that we're planning to take the U87's down, have them serviced, and then use them primarily as spot mics)
I'm sure there are a million opinions on this, but I'm looking for input on another good pair to hang in ORTF.
Schoeps MK21 wide cardioid have come up as a possibility I saw in another thread.
Also, is that Earthworks pre a good option? We're looking for super clean and quiet with plenty of gain. We've got other options for "color" if needed, and that's not really what we want out of this system anyway.
Wish we had the luxury of trying out a bunch of stuff, but as I said, no one here really does this full time, and I'm just trying to help spend this surprise money on something we need.
23rd October 2012
Old 23rd October 2012
Lives for gear

I would have suggested Sennheiser MKH 8000 series, especially of the hall can get cold and have condensation.