Login / Register

Best Sounding, Lightest Speakers For Portable PA?
New Reply
Subscribe
Beto Carvalho
18th October 2012
Old 18th October 2012
Gear interested

Best Sounding, Lightest Speakers For Portable PA?

Hello all,

I am a studio engineer, not live sound. Which means I can set up and run a PA system, but this is not my specialty.

Our church is moving to a Century movie theater, with around 200 seating. The thought of setting up and tearing down a PA every week is daunting, so we're looking for the lightest/best quality system we can get.

Console: As much as I prefer analog consoles, I'm considering going with the PreSonus Studiolive 24.4.2, because that will have all dynamics and effects on board, plus I can record audio easily – plus, it actually sounds good.

Speakers: What is the highest quality, lightest self-powered speaker system we can get? (I'd prefer to go with self-powered, but I would consider doing using a dbx Rack Drive PA+ + amps + passive speakers)

Not interested in Behringers, would like to go a step higher than Mackies, and even active QSCs.

Budget: around $2,000

Bose L1? Turbosound Milan? Anything by Funktion One? EAW?

Please, people with real world experience, help.
18th October 2012
Old 18th October 2012
Gear addict

Good luck for 2k..
Even a mackie sub is 1k, and you'll need at least 2
Best small high end system i know is the Coda Audio Coray4 system with G15sub, combined with processor and Lab6000..
But that'll cost you +-6k..
Amazing though..

Does the presonus also have to go in that 2k$ ?
18th October 2012
Old 18th October 2012
Gear maniac

Turbosound sounds very good. They've recently been bought out my music group, but for the price they've always been satisfying for me.

Honestly, a 200 seat theater isn't that big so you can very much focus on quality over total sound output