Advice need on a good mic for stereo ambient recording
Old 1st March 2012
Gear nut

Advice needed on a good mic for stereo ambient recording

Hi all!

I'm not a professional recordist (mainly dealing with audio gear sales now, after a few years working in post-production). So although I'm not a fan of spending money in cheap crappy gear that ends up turning into a false investment, I also can't afford to buy the best of the best.

I'm interested in recording nature/ambient/street sounds, and am looking for a good quality stereo microphone.

Not a fan of the idea of carrying a pair of mics. I want a stereo self-contained mic that's quick to take out of a bag in my trunk, pop onto a mic stand and start recording.

My setup will be as follows:

- Sound Devices USB Pre2 interface powered by an USB battery
- Digital recorder receiving the digital out of the SD USBPre2 (still not sure if I'll buy the Tascam Dr100-mkII or the Marantz PMD661)

I have acess to all Røde microphones in my company (we're the distributors of Røde mics in my country), so naturally I was looking at the NT4, as I can get it for around half market price.

But I'd also like to explore other possibilities.

Do you also do these kind or recordings?
Can I get your opinion on this?

I'm looking at the Audio Technica BP4029. It's not only a stereo mic, it also has its own M-S matrix, although is a bit more expensive...

Do you have a preferred stereo mic?
What would you use with a setup like this to keep it clean (ie. nice signal-to-noise level, and without going into Schoeps or Neumann... my wallet doesn't reach that far).

Thanks!
Toscano

Last edited by Andre Toscano; 1st March 2012 at 11:25 PM.. Reason: typo
Old 2nd March 2012
Gear nut

Anyone?

Hmmm... I guess a stereo mic is not such a hot topic these days...

Toscano
Old 2nd March 2012
Lives for gear

Well, there's a fundamental difference between NT-4 and BP 4029: one has two cardioid capsules, the other is a short shotgun M with a fig-8 S.