Advice on miking and recording a grand piano+vocals together
uvray
27th February 2012
Old 27th February 2012
Gear interested

Advice on miking and recording a grand piano+vocals together

Hi folks,
I'm a music producer about to record and mix a new EP for a cool London based duo called Penniless Cove. They consist of a singer/pianist and a cellist. I will record them in a decent studio with a beautiful grand piano.
I've recorded that piano already and it sounds great. The thing is I'm thinking of recording the pianist singing at the same time so to keep the natural feel of her songs and not to separate the recording process, which could end up making it sound synthetic.

1. Have any of you had any experience with doing that?
2. How would you mic it all up?
3. How hard would it be to mix?
4. how much would the spill affect the mixing possibilities?

Any advice would be appreciated, if you know what you're talking about of course.

Cheers,
UV
27th February 2012
Old 27th February 2012
Lives for gear

This is something that is pretty common for good pianist/singers, and there are some good tried-and-true methods

One good way is to put the piano on full-stick, mic it how you would like to on the inside or just-outside the lid, then carefully drape a large thick blanket (like a moving blanket or quilt) over the lid to the ground, covering the angle in front of the player and the microphones. Be careful not to disturb your mic placement! Then mic the pianist/vocalist with a cardioid set to reject the piano sound from behind it, and voila! good isolation.

Some studios even have big foam inserts custom-made to fit into the angled opening in front of the pianist for just this reason. This is, according to interviews, how Diana Krall records most of her studio records.
uvray
27th February 2012
Old 27th February 2012
Gear interested

Thanks for your quick response Playa,