Subscribe
semion
25th January 2012
Old 25th January 2012
Gear nut

Talking Uses of stereo microphone

Hi fellow slutz,

As I am new to the other side of the microphone, Im still learning, so please
have patience if the question seems a bit dumb.

My questions concerns the usage of a stereo microphone /eg SM2/.

What are the differences ,or advantages/disadvantages over a pair of microphones , when recording stereo ?

Thank you
25th January 2012
Old 25th January 2012
Gear Guru

Full disclosure: as I descend further into the mists of old age, I tend to see whatever particular piece of gear is plugged in and functioning as less and less and less "mission critical" compared to the things that are critical: showing up on time, having a rapport with the signal chain, bearing witness to a stunning display of musical virtuosoism-- being the court reporter to that display-- and so I'd say the differences between a single stereo mic and a pair of mics are sorta esoteric if not inconsequential and trifling-- thank you, thesaurus.com.

Ease of use and reliably realistic capture would be one advantage, though... and if the situation gets tense and you need a weapon, they're usually heftier than a single mono mic.

mountaintop@taconic.net

www.joelpatterson.us
25th January 2012
Old 25th January 2012
Lives for gear

What Joel said... plus, no one solution ever is the "best" solution in all situations. Just like you cannot effectively remove a small Philips head screw with a large flat screwdriver, different solutions require different tools. I use my NT4 when I need a quick, or small/tidy setup, or the situation requires what a XY pattern will give me. If there's time, space and a large group/orchestra/chorus... while the NT4 will certainly give me "a" result, it likely won't be the "best" result possible. So... it's about having choices, and tools, and knowledge, and talent.

If it was easy, everybody could do it. Ergo... the Zoom.