Tags: , , , , , , ,

St John's Smith, London • String Ensemble, Organ, Soloists • 3 x Questions
New Reply
Subscribe
Sheikyearbouti
18th October 2010
Old 18th October 2010
Gear addict

Question St John's Smith, London • String Ensemble, Organ, Soloists • 3 x Questions

Dear Slutz,

On the 7th of November I will have a concert recording at St John's Smith Square, London. I need an advice regarding the microphone choice and placement. As well it is my first time to fly microphones and your help will be very welcome. I'll be recording a String Ensemble featuring additional musicians, including Organ, for the different compositions played.

The progaramme will be:
Albinoni (arr. Giazotto) Adagio in G minor for Organ and Strings
J.S. Bach Erbarme Dich BWV 244: No.47 St Matthew Passion for Violin, Voice and Strings
Vaughan Williams Fantasia on Greensleeves
F. Amirov Nizami Symphony for Strings

The ensemble includes:
• 9 x Violins (1 Solo Violin for Bach)
• 2 Cellos
• 2 x Violas
• 1 x Double Bass.

The additional instruments will be:
• 1 x Flute
• 1 x Harp
• 1 x Pipe Organ
• 1 x Voice (Mezzo Soprano)
• 1 x extra Violin
• 1 x extra Double Bass

I am pretty sure that some of you have already worked at St John's but for those who haven't or don't live in the UK I have included a few horrific mobile phone photos to give you an idea about the venue. Alternatively see the link with some much better photos found by Google.

My impression from the short visit I did this Monday there is that it is relatively quiet, especially for a place in the heart of London. Some noticeable traffic noise but not the usual nightmare so I'm not too worried about it. The acoustics: not brilliant but not bad at all. In my opinion good enough to go for an omni main pair.
I will probably be situated behind the curtains on stage as they will not be fully open and I will be invisible for the public. In this way I think that I will be able to use shorter cables.

Here is my idea of the mic list.