Login / Register

Tags: , , , , , ,

First time recording live classical music. CLUELESS!
New Reply
Subscribe
jsbeeth
28th January 2010
Old 28th January 2010
Gear addict

Question First time recording live classical music. CLUELESS!

Hey y'all. I'll soon be recording a classical violin/piano duo in a large church sanctuary, and I've never done anything like this before, as all my engineering exp to date has been in the pop realm -- overdubs, close miking, etc.

It's not a live concert, so it can (and hopefully will) sound something "like a record," but everything will be tracked live and simultaneously. What do folks recommend to capture the sound of the space? Some room mics I assume, but how far back? How many? Pointed where? Do I compliment/mix with close mics?

I have solid enough preamps, and the following mics: AKG 414, 2 SM81's, 2 old Shure BG4's (decent sdc's). I assume I won't want to touch any dynamic mics on this one, but I've got a 57 and 58 as well.

Any suggestions would be a life saver! Thanks.
28th January 2010
Old 28th January 2010
Banned

The simple answer is: Put two mics (in your case I'd grab the sm81's) in the room where they sound the best and hit record. ORTF is the hardest positioning to mess up if it's your first time doing stereo pairs. Further away for more room sound, closer for more direct. Since you have the mics, and I'll assume the available tracks, put some spot mics on them as well. The goal is to get a good sound with just the two room mics, but the more the merrier for your mixing pleasure. Also, don't be afraid to play with the placement of the musicians. You probably won't want to be moving around the piano, but try different placements of the violinist (if he/she will allow). Good luck, have fun, and welcome to the world of remote recording!
28th January 2010
Old 28th January 2010
Lives for gear