Old 13th August 2008
Gear nut

Question Basic EQ tips for acoustic guitar-

I hope this is the right place to post this, as it seems to make the most logical sense.

Was hoping I could get some starting points to help fatten up a fairly skinny sounding acoustic guitar.
My acoustic plays well, but is not really a great tracking guitar. However, I'm convinced with a little eq'ing it could be adequate for basic overdub tracks on demos... Especially for extra rhythm passes & simple guit/vox demos for songwriters.

Using basic eq plugins (I'm mainly using Pro Tools M-Powered 7.4), what is a good starting point for adding some warmth, while still staying tight?
Meaning... Obviously it's one of those "use your ears," things... But I'm hoping some experienced mix & master guys could give me some ideas on what frequency ranges to start with. Obviously, I don't want it to sound boomy, and I'm a total newb when it comes to using EQ plugins.

For an idea of what type of tone I'm getting with my rig, you can download the folder called "acoustic guitar tests" at jaysonchance.com. They are raw wav form samples of me trying different pre-amp settings & mic placement, recorded at 24/48k.

Hopefully, a trained ear can hear what I've got, and tell me what it needs in terms of frequency boosts and/or cuts.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Old 13th August 2008
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChance View Post
I hope this is the right place to post this, as it seems to make the most logical sense.

Was hoping I could get some starting points to help fatten up a fairly skinny sounding acoustic guitar.
My acoustic plays well, but is not really a great tracking guitar. However, I'm convinced with a little eq'ing it could be adequate for basic overdub tracks on demos... Especially for extra rhythm passes & simple guit/vox demos for songwriters.