Gearslutz.com

Gearslutz.com (http://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording (http://www.gearslutz.com/board/remote-possibilities-acoustic-music-location-recording/)
-   -   Which solo classical piano setup of the two? (http://www.gearslutz.com/board/remote-possibilities-acoustic-music-location-recording/182283-solo-classical-piano-setup-two.html)

macula 9th March 2008 06:53 PM

Which solo classical piano setup of the two?

I am a good professional classical pianist but a newbie in recording technology. Please help me overcome my pre-purchase indecisiveness!

I am looking for the best possible matched pair of mics below $1,000 to connect with an Apogee Duet FW interface running on Macbook 2.4GHz with 4GB of RAM (I haven't bought the Apogee yet, but I doubt there is a better interface in that price range). Which one do you think is best:

1. Oktava (or Michael Jolly's OktavaMod) MK-012
2. DPA 4061 kit
3. Any other options? Unfortunately I cannot afford a Schoepps or Gefell pair.

Thank you!

jnorman 9th March 2008 08:54 PM

i just did a christmas CD of solo piano for a lady with a 7'4" bosendorfer grand piano, which turned out to be one of the best recordings i have ever made. i have used DPA 4011s on this piano for a previous CD i did for her, but this time i used a pair of AT 4051s inside the cabinet. spectacularly good pair of mics for the money. i tried a pair of DPA 4061s in spaced AB just outside the lip, which was also nice, but both the pianist and i preferred the 4051s.

VegetativeState 9th March 2008 10:37 PM

You should really check out this thread from Dr. Bill where he compares a number of ribbon pairs on piano, the pair he chose in the end was fairly surprising and definitely in your price range. I'm not sure about the Duet having enough gain for ribbons, but if it does this thread should be of great interest:
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/gear-...mparisons.html

just.sounds 10th March 2008 08:28 AM