New Reply
Subscribe
marciojhs
30th January 2007
Old 30th January 2007
Gear interested

Talking Jazz rock fusion quintet

I
I'm new here. Recently i was invited to record a jazz quintet with very important musicians (one of them was one of Pavarotti's arranger). They are all Excellent players. I'm a more rock producer, I've recorded many rock, pop, wahtever bands, but I've never recorded any jazz band. I was very honoured with the invitation. The Album is not just Jazz. Is a mix of Jazz, rock, fusion, and something in the middle!
The quintet is formed by a drummer, a bass (electric in this case...no upright), Electric guitar and acoustic, piano (full concert piano) and a Viola player(like violin but a little bit bigger).
The mixer is a SSL 4000G, but all will be recorded with neve pre amps.

I guest some of you will try to say to try only mic the kick drum, overheads and maybe snare. But this is some kind of different approach,i guess. I'm thinking in miking all, and than use it or not...since I'm mixing also!
And still don't have all the mic list from the studio but i can rent it if want to...i have the budget(if is worth it).

What do you think i should use? If you could have all the mics in the world, what would you use?

p.s. If you're are thinking in using room mics, you should consider that the studio is 200 m2 and it has variable acoustic in the live room.
Shoot you opinions.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Jazz rock fusion quintet-mb.jpg  
30th January 2007
Old 30th January 2007
Gear Head

Wink

Wow, that's a pretty broad question, but I'll give some tips on the drums: In most situations, I mike every drum, plus stereo overheads, plus stereo room mics. Better safe than sorry. As soon as you skimp on drum mics and don't mic everything, someone is going to be pissed that you have less control in the mix. So track everything and if you decide to go for less is more, turn off (or down) those close mics and go with the natural less miced setup. My usual setup: