Need an inexpensive turntable
Old 25th August 2013
Gear nut

Need an inexpensive turntable

one to play records on that can double up as something to sample from. Any suggestions? My budget is really pretty low because I'm a student...but I don't want to get something so cheap it ruins my records.
Old 29th August 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by tektonic View Post
one to play records on that can double up as something to sample from. Any suggestions? My budget is really pretty low because I'm a student...but I don't want to get something so cheap it ruins my records.
Depending what you're going to be doing with the turntable, that's how you decide.

Belt drive = great for sampling / listening to records.

Direct drive = turntablist (as it's on a motor, not a belt).

I personally have the Numark TTXUSB -- which is way too over to the top, unless you are an audiophile/extremest to scratching etc.

I would recommend the Numark TTUSB (Not TTX), it's very affordable!:
Numark TTUSB | Sweetwater.com
Old 30th August 2013
Lives for gear

Stay away from cheap belt-drives. The torque can easily become inconsistent and usually the cases aren't as solid so they pick up more vibrations and don't sound as good. Belt-drives are only good if you go really high-end audiophile (like 1k and up).

I have a pair of vestax PDXs that I travel with, a pair of Numark TTXs in my studio, plus use Tech12s all the time at clubs. I've also owned cheaper turntables from Stanton and Numark.

The only mid-grade turntables I would recommend would be the Numark TT200 (or TT500 if you can find one) or the Stanton T.62. Basically the cheaper direct-drives. You also could go with used higher end DJ tables but make sure you check them out thoroughly. The first-generation TTX had a well documented design flaw and there are thousands of janky, abused, old Tech 1200s floating around that require expensive repairs.
Old 31st August 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolout View Post