New Reply
Subscribe
Osciller
30th June 2013
Old 30th June 2013
Gear interested

Radio Quality Vocals / Bedroom

Hey there.

I've been stumped lately about my vocals, here's a bit of background information.

I'm a Producer / Songwriter. I produce all of my own instrumental, I've been doing this for a few years.
I also write all of my own lyrics, which are actually pretty good (In my opinion, at least).

Basically, I'm wondering if it's possible to get studio / radio quality vocals in an apartment bedroom?

Currently my gear is: KRK RP5's, SM57, AT2020, FOCUSRITE 2i2, K240 Headphones, and my laptop of course.

I've been experimenting with this set up for a while, and I've gotten some so so results, even a few results that I'm slightly satisfied with, but when compared with other music, it's just not there.

I do understand that the commercial music I am hearing has been mixed and mastered by professionals who do this as a living, but it can't be impossible for someone in my situation to create something listenable? I can't quite afford the High-end stuff, per say.

For instance, it's said that Mike Posner (One of my biggest influences) Recorded the single "Cooler than me" In his dorm room on a cheap Microphone. In that situation, would it have also been mixed by him as well, or would he have sent it off to a mixing engineer, and a mastering engineer as well? I've always wondered about that, does the average person who produces and records their own material, have it sent off to someone else to do the mixing?

It's just hard for me, because I have to for one, get the instrumental sounding nice. Then I have to take said instrumental and lay my vocals on top of that and try to get it to sit well, but there are all of these different things that need to be done correctly, to make the whole thing work together.

So we're talking Production, Recording, Mixing, Mastering (Or amateur level boosting, if you will, haha).