How many Turntables are needed to use strictly as an instrument to scratch with?
Blue42kilo
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Gear maniac

How many Turntables are needed to use strictly as an instrument to scratch with?

As a hip-hop engineer, I'd like to do my own scratching as far as the turntables are concerned. With that being said, how many turntables do I need? I'm not going to be a deejay so is having two turntables necessary? Influenced by DJ Abilities, I'd like to practice and get good enough to something similar to what he's done on the Eyedea and Abilities albums.
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Lives for gear

you're going to need at least 3 - one for percussive sounds (kicks/snares), one for vocal samples/sound effects, etc., and another for switching between the two. if you think you'd like to transform or crab that'll be another 2.
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Lives for gear

One turntable, one mixer, straight into DAW. Get your cut on!
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

For scratching- 1 & dj mixer.
Beat juggling & such- 2 & dj mixer.
Executioner style stuff- 3+
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Gear addict

use 1 and record in multiple takes. like Noize said. I suggest getting a TT with very high torque.
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
Lives for gear

1 + mixer
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
Lives for gear

1+mixer to scratch. I haven't had 2 in years but I have only had the space as of lately, new spot.
Blue42kilo
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
Gear maniac

I don't want to scratch using any time code and I never scratched using real vinyl before. I know you said straight into the DAW but I wonder if it's better to chain it to a phono preamp befor it goes into the interface?..
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
Lives for gear