MPC 2000XL question
DNTE
26th December 2012
Old 26th December 2012
Gear interested

MPC 2000XL question

I'm preparing to purchase an MPC, and looking through various models the 2000xl seemed to stand out to me due to it having unique tonal characteristics, a retro look and it's apparent popularity amongst industry producers, however, I'm unsure about its functioning and capabilities with more recent production methods

does the 2000xl only use floppy disks for sound banks, or can it be controlled through midi or interface input, with sounds from my computer being assigned to the pads?
26th December 2012
Old 26th December 2012
Lives for gear

DNTE
26th December 2012
Old 26th December 2012
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tnevz View Post
You can use the midi out to control sounds on your computer.
And
MPC2000XL Site
I'm sorry I'm completely oblivious when it comes to producing with hard ware, as I've never done it before, so what exactly do you mean by this?
27th December 2012
Old 27th December 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by DNTE View Post
I'm sorry I'm completely oblivious when it comes to producing with hard ware, as I've never done it before, so what exactly do you mean by this?
Midi I/O to & from your interface to the MPC to control the sounds in your DAW. Simple...if your interface has no midi get a midi sport for cheap
27th December 2012
Old 27th December 2012
Lives for gear

And peep the link homie sent...very informative. You can get a CF card reader and transfer sounds. That's what I use to do. Also had the SCSI CD-ROM so I could load them that way...
DNTE
27th December 2012
Old 27th December 2012
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by awhitebeats View Post
Midi I/O to & from your interface to the MPC to control the sounds in your DAW. Simple...if your interface has no midi get a midi sport for cheap