Mixing Tips for a Song
Old 19th November 2012
Gear interested

Mixing Tips for a Song

Hey. I've been working on this mix for a while, but it's at the point where I feel it can be posted for feedback. I'm an amateur engineer, but I've been through school and am at the stage where I'm just trying to practice and apply the skills I've learned.

I'm looking for general feedback about the quality of the mix. Thank you!
Attached Files
File Type: mp3 October Snow Part 2 mix 1.mp3 (4.11 MB, 113 views)
Old 20th November 2012
im not sure if its your compression or your desser but its a bit strong... its mashing you down a bit to much... but thats all taste, i personally like to leave a little but of natural ess in the vocals. it just sounds more realistic....
Old 20th November 2012
Lives for gear

thats a pretty dope track man, im just listening on laptop speakers, but its seems that hte second verse is much louder than the 1st verse, and i like the level of the second verse bettter.

the hook is also a little bit quieter than the rest of the verses, maybe try and even out the vocal levels.

i can hear the kick drum pretty good through my laptop speakers, so thats pretty good, overall your mix sounds pretty good, maybe just try and even the vocals out a bit and maybe turn the snare down a TINY bit. otherwise sounds pretty good to me, keep in mind that im listening on laptop speakers a the moment though.
Old 20th November 2012
Deleted User #106149