Login / Register

How much should I sell a beat to a well known independent underground artist?
New Reply
Subscribe
Guy Gabriel
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Gear addict

Send a message via Skype™ to Guy Gabriel
How much should I sell a beat to a well known independent underground artist?

Lets say a producer who doesn't have major placements (yet) and a well known independent artist wants a beat from him, how much should he ask for?
I'm pretty new to the US industry in these cases. I don't expect you guys to give me an exact price but what's the ballpark for these cases?

Thanks
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Gabriel View Post
Lets say a producer who doesn't have major placements (yet and a well known independent artist wants a beat from him, how much should I ask for, I'm pretty new to the US industry in these cases. I don't expect you guys to give me an exact price but what's the ballpark for these cases?

Thanks
About $200k plus points give or take.
Get a mgr and have him/her do it though.
If you find that they have a bigger budget, charge your normal full price. There have been some "underground" labels that clock more loot than many would suspect.

Tax em.

Last edited by jrides; 17th May 2012 at 03:31 AM.. Reason: Why not add another zero since people seem not to be able to read my subsequnt posts lol. Just for the hell of it.
Hobbs_Won
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Hobbs_Won

Give it to him for free
12th May 2012
Old 12th May 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Gabriel View Post
Lets say a producer who doesn't have major placements (yet and a well known independent artist wants a beat from him, how much should I ask for, I'm pretty new to the US industry in these cases. I don't expect you guys to give me an exact price but what's the ballpark for these cases?