Where do I get Weeknd Synths?
New Reply
Subscribe
SickAngel
10th April 2012
Old 10th April 2012
Gear interested

Where do I get Weeknd Synths?

All those dark synths his producer Illangelo uses on House of Balloons, Thursday, Echoes of Silence? People say he programmed them but i DOUBT he was able to program ALL those sounds to make all those songs in a short amount of time he was given.

The only VST i have is Nexus 2 since i recently ditched hardware to go ITB. I am also getting Komplete soon, but i need MORE vsts in which have these sounds. I don't look into programming, since I am a musician, not a sound designer. Anything would be useful! Thank you!
10th April 2012
Old 10th April 2012
Gear interested

Don't know what your talkin about, but if you need free VST's check out www.kvr.com ? I think thats what it is... If not... Google it
10th April 2012
Old 10th April 2012
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.

I think he is talking about the synths the Weeknd's producer, Illangelo uses. I am wondering too. Although people will tell you he programs every single sound.
10th April 2012
Old 10th April 2012
Lives for gear

You have Nexus 2 but you still want to know what synthesis illangelo uses? ..... what if I told you that he uses Nexus 2 exclusively? what then?

You ARE allowed to add delay, reverb, distortion, bit crushing, phasers, flangers, chorus, exciters, crushing compression etc

You are also free to automate the volume, panning and mute at your own leisure too.

It's how you use the tools.

Sent from my Nexus One using Gearslutz App
11th April 2012
Old 11th April 2012
Lives for gear

A combination of Komplete and Nexus should give you what your looking for as well as some creative automation and creative mixing techniques..

Stick with the minor scales..
Reverb is your best friend for width and spacial acoustics..