Mastering Inside The Mix
New Reply
Subscribe
Reem703
1st April 2012
Old 1st April 2012
Gear addict

Mastering Inside The Mix

I'm starting to like to master inside the mix. I am quite new to the sonnox limiter and inflator. I have the inflator before limiter set at 100% and

limiter

soft knee 0, 0.05ms attack, 1.00ms, 18+ input gain, 80% enhance,-0.2 output, auto comp IN, dither 24 bit, dither type TPDF.

soft knee 0, 0.05ms attack, 1.00ms, 18+ input gain(gets my mix to about -0.2), 80% enhance,-0.2 output, auto comp IN, dither 24 bit, dither type TPDF.

I mean it sounds fine to me/nothing in the red clipping, but would this be overdoing the settings? Just curious sense i'm getting used to the whole mastering thing.I was using the L2 but this sounds smoother. Just want to put a little DIY master on mixtape tracks and other works.
1st April 2012
Old 1st April 2012
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reem703 View Post
I'm starting to like to master inside the mix. I am quite new to the sonnox limiter and inflator. I have the inflator before limiter set at 100% and

limiter

soft knee 0, 0.05ms attack, 1.00ms, 18+ input gain, 80% enhance,-0.2 output, auto comp IN, dither 24 bit, dither type TPDF.

soft knee 0, 0.05ms attack, 1.00ms, 18+ input gain(gets my mix to about -0.2), 80% enhance,-0.2 output, auto comp IN, dither 24 bit, dither type TPDF.

I mean it sounds fine to me/nothing in the red clipping, but would this be overdoing the settings? Just curious sense i'm getting used to the whole mastering thing.I was using the L2 but this sounds smoother. Just want to put a little DIY master on mixtape tracks and other works.
IMHO, +18 on input gain is too high. your squashing your mix
Reem703
1st April 2012
Old 1st April 2012
Gear addict

I'm going to see if i can get it louder without having to push it that high.
1st April 2012
Old 1st April 2012
Gear Head

Quote:

limiter

What you're doing isn't mastering!
1st April 2012
Old 1st April 2012
Lives for gear

Quote: