FL Studio best sounding DAW?
New Reply
Subscribe
dmarz45
28th March 2012
Old 28th March 2012
Gear maniac

FL Studio best sounding DAW?

Just want to start out saying that I've been making music for over 12 years now. Ok so I've made beats using all the major DAWs as well as pretty much every MPC (besides the 60 and 2000xl) as well as the ASR-10. And I've come to the conclusion that hardware just sounds way better then all of the software programs (with the exception of the MPC 1000 & 2500, both sound very thin). I can really tell the difference between a beat made using hardware as opposed to software. The drums just hit harder when using hardware. However, I love the ease of using software. Theres something about seeing all the notes on the screen and being able to freely move them around that really intrigues me. I currently use Reaper to make beats and I've always messed around with FL Studio. I find that I can really get the drums smacking HARD in FL Studio like I can in my MPC. When I make beats in Reaper or Nuendo\Cubase (using Battery), the drums just dont hit as hard as they do in FL Studio. Do you guys agree with this? Just wanted to get some other people's opinions because Im seriously considering switching to making all my beats in FL studio. Even though FL usually gets a bad rap with other producers, I really think it does sound much better than any other DAW. Just wanted to get your guys' opinion? What do you think?
28th March 2012
Old 28th March 2012
Gear nut

FL Studio's default session has a maximizer plugin on the master fader - probably accounts for the "smacking hard" effect. Other than that...well, I'll let someone else break down the eternal DAW comparison convo.
28th March 2012
Old 28th March 2012
Gear maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. June View Post