Compressing rap vocals
New Reply
Subscribe
Dutch Dave
14th June 2011
Old 14th June 2011
Gear addict

Compressing rap vocals

And I don't mean for tracking but for mixing.

It's not easy! I like my CLA-76 on vocals and I usually slam it hard (ratio 20:1 or sometimes even all buttons in) to bring out energy. But with rap it's harder to work with because it saturates too much. And I found that saturated vocals and hip-hop don't mix well.

Of course I can use a 4:1 ratio which will distort less but it's not grabbing the vocals the way I like it.
I found I get the best results using 12:1 ratio with attack between 5 and 6 and release between 6 and 7, but I'm still not fully satiesfied.

What are you guys' secrets? How do you compress rap vocals?
14th June 2011
Old 14th June 2011
Lives for gear

I have no experience with that plugin, but assuming it is relatively accurate to the real thing.... an 1176 is NOT the compressor I would reach for on a lead vocal for heavy compression (ie. the type of compression that is common in today's hip-hop). It is much better at pulling off peaks on vocals, unless you like them saturated and wooly as you've discovered.
Three international #1 hit radio singles
Me: www.vonpimpenstein.com | Studio: www.feistychicken.com | Facebook: www.facebook.com/chriscarterproducer
MIX RATES: Standard major label $700, Standard indie/unsigned $299(temporary price from $550), Promo $49-$99
15th June 2011
Old 15th June 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Dave View Post

It's not easy! I like my CLA-76 on vocals and I usually slam it hard (ratio 20:1 or sometimes even all buttons in) to bring out energy. But with rap it's harder to work with because it saturates too much. And I found that saturated vocals and hip-hop don't mix well.

Of course I can use a 4:1 ratio which will distort less but it's not grabbing the vocals the way I like it.