Talkbox and Yamaha DX100
Old 23rd January 2006
Gear nut

Talkbox and Yamaha DX100

Hey this is my first time posting on this site and i've noticed that there's a lot of people that know their stuff on here so i hope someone out there can help me out. I'm trying to get that Roger Troutman sound with a Yamaha DX100 and Banshee Talkbox. ive tried editing the FM sawtooth voice on the DX and it sounds ok but it just doesn't sound good enough when i compare it to the sound Roger had or the sound Dj Quik, Battlecat, Bosko etc. have. I have a chance to possibly do some talkbox work here in the near future but i want to get the best possible sound. if anyone knows the parameters for this sound i would appreciate the help. thanks
Old 23rd January 2006
Gear maniac

Old 25th January 2006
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by InsaneMixaken
holla at me I got them InsaneMixaken@aol.com
I checked the link you sent me for your "my space" but i didn't see any parameters for the DX100, thanks anyway. If anyone else has any info on how to get a good talkbox sound out of a Yamaha DX100 hit me up...
Old 25th January 2006
Gear maniac

i use the larisyn preset or a brass preset. but its not only the dx 100 sound, its also the player that makes the 'roger'sound. ya gotta pronounce the s, v,t etc. adding a guitar distortion can also make the sound a little clearer.
Old 25th January 2006
M2E
Lives for gear

Hey B.A.

Like Rotterdam said. It's not only the DX-100 and Heil or Bandshee, it's the performer. It took me a long time time get a good sound doing it.
Roger used the Hard Brass from the DX-100 and make sure you put it in Mono for lead lines.
Also when you do backgrounds, you have to do them like a singer and do about 8 to 16 parts. That's what Roger did as well. It's really a lot of work to get it right. It took me around three years to get it down. A great mic helps as well. I use a U87 Neumann.
He use to use a Shure 57 among other mics.