Caine419
29th April 2010
Old 29th April 2010
Gear nut

Where Do I Start?

First off, I'm not a professional and I don't pretend to be. I've asked a lot of basic questions that most pro's here would frown at but just about everybody has been nice enough to take time and help me so hopefully I can get some help here.

I'm 17 and I'm experienced with actual music but not the technical side of things. The money it takes to buy beats, record and mix a song is really high, and I would rather spend some time and money investing in myself and be able to do this on my own.

I've never really thought about actually studying this stuff before. My problem is I don't know when a track needs eq or how to do it just as the track needs, when or how to use compression, stuff like that. And I have no idea how to figure it out. I read constantly about this stuff but everything seems to assume that you already know that stuff. I read TweakHeadz articles over and over and while a lot is helpful, it still doesn't help with basic stuff.

Another thing is equipment... now I know that nobody can say 'this is the best mic' or 'this is the best preamp' but I don't really know how to go about finding out the best things for me. I don't know what to look at when buying that stuff. I'm 17 and have a job so now is the time to buy this stuff while I don't have any other obligations, but I don't know how to go about it.

Also, I know I'm not gonna get up to the level of a pro engineer for many years. But everybody starts somewhere. As long as I can make good quality recordings that can be on an official retail release, that's all I'm going for right now.

So if anyone can give me some information on how to go about this stuff or a good place to get started, I would really appreciate it.

I'm talking about recording vocals only.
29th April 2010
Old 29th April 2010