Login / Register

EQs increase the overall level when cutting out frequencies... WHY!
New Reply
Subscribe
Autotune Prophet
11th July 2008
Old 11th July 2008
Gear maniac

EQs increase the overall level when cutting out frequencies... WHY!

Hi everybody,

this has been bugging me out for the longest time:

How come, when I cut out certain frequencies of a sound with an EQ, the overall level of the sound increases too?

In theory this doesn't make sense to me: when you cut out (take away) frequencies, then I assume that the sound should be decreased in volume?

I experience this alot (cut out frequencies = increase in volume), especially when I lowpass a sound but not only.

1- Is this normal?

2- Does it occur only in the digital world?

3- Only with specific eq types (no matter digital or analog)

4- Can you recommend an eq plugin that doesn't do this...

Thank you all for your answers as this issue is very confusing for me

"As a professional I think "man thats a dumb a** question" but then I realize hey if everyone was like me then the competition would be nuts. lol.. Jk."
11th July 2008
Old 11th July 2008
Lives for gear

Great question, I've noticed this too- dragging down a frequency can all of a sudden make the EQ output clip... but I'm LOWERING the volume of a bandwidth?
11th July 2008
Old 11th July 2008
Lives for gear