Uk - USA
New Reply
Subscribe
ThatMan
25th February 2007
Old 25th February 2007
Gear interested

Uk - USA

Hi - i'm new here - i've been researching alot on these boards .. they're really cool..some really knowledgeable people around..anyway.. I am a UK producer and to me - the difference between UK productions and US productions ( hip/hop / r&b / pop ) is pretty spectacular. Vocals sound clearer, drums hit harder, sounds seem fresher etc when listening to alot of the US productions. I wanna come to the US maybe for a few months and try and get some experience with the American cats..i want to know if this would seem a viable idea to pursue..im thinking of coming to New York for a while - i just want to learn as much as i can to improve my own production.....

Any help / advice would be wkd..?

I'm just not sure whether this is going to be a step forward - guess it has to be experienced before i know whether it will benefit me or not!!

Peace
25th February 2007
Old 25th February 2007
Gear maniac

i really love the uk stuff
when it come to innovation
uk kicks it but think the main
problem in uk is that hiphop
is still restricted to ungerground
and therefore those acts dont get
xs to the exepensive outboard stuff.
take dizzees 1st album , was completely
mixed on powercore (sounds awsome anyway)
ThatMan
25th February 2007
Old 25th February 2007
Gear interested

I understand what you're saying but it's not just UK Hip-hop - its pop and r&b as well (stuff that is at the top of the chart and which is recorded and produced in top studios) - sonically speaking it just doesn't sound on par with anything i've heard from the US - there are some great artists from the UK im by no means saying there isn't - im just talking about production.
25th February 2007
Old 25th February 2007
Gear maniac

can you name some acts/albums ?
just curious
ThatMan
25th February 2007
Old 25th February 2007
Gear interested