how do/did you...
George Necola
9th April 2007
Old 9th April 2007
x86 Moderator

how do/did you...

1. have the idea for programming Reaper?

2. program it technically (talking about audioprocessing, VST implementation, mixbus implementation)

3. choose the look and feel?

4. test reaper with those 1000 of systems out there

5. get in contact with your customers? (forum, by phone, service hotline)

feel free to answer very technical (I would like a very technical answer on 1 and 2).

cheers George
(one of this forums modeators!)
9th April 2007
Old 9th April 2007
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by George Necola View Post
1. have the idea for programming Reaper?
Other software wasn't really meeting my needs.. and I had done some FX processing software before (Jesusonic), as well as started writing realtime encoding/decoding/mix engines (NINJAM).. so actually I started playing with making a multittrack Jesusonic, and then realized how much more it'd be..

It started out named "jmde" (justin's music development environment or something), but then I went through some ideas for things you could pronounce, including CRAPR, TRAMP, CRAMPS, RAP, JEAH, etc (all standing for things), but ultimately settled on REAPER (Rapid Environment for Audio Prototyping and Efficient Recording).

But that's not a technical answer, I'll save that for #2.

Quote:
2. program it technically (talking about audioprocessing, VST implementation, mixbus implementation)
I had already written a bunch of the I/O code for Jesusonic and NINJAM, i.e. ASIO drivers, WAV reading/writing, etc etc.. So really it was a matter of writing a win32 application, which I guess I have a lot of experience doing at this point.

Adding VST was a matter of getting the SDK from Steinberg, and (since the SDK seems very focused on writing plug-ins not hosts) figuring out what was required to host. DX plug-in support is an even bigger mess, so I got Christophe to help on this as he had a lot more experience with DX.