Subscribe
lwr
30th September 2004
Old 30th September 2004
Gear addict

Christina's headphone bleed in Beautifull

Hi Dave,

im sure you mixed this one.

could you tell me about the headphone bleed in the vocal and how you went about doing whatever you did with it?

thanks
Romesh
1st October 2004
Old 1st October 2004
Guest Moderator - September 08

ONE OF MY FAVORITE IDEAS TO DATE

The song was about being beautiful and honest in EVERY way. That bleed is honest. It was one of the most honest vocal performances I had EVER heard. It was actually the scratch vocal. Christina still had the lyrics in her hand. She truly has THEGIFT. So I tried to make the mix (with Linda's guidance) as honest as I knew how. I studied "Imagine" by John Lennon and used that as a guide. To me the bleed at the end was HONEST. When I took it out, I missed it. It sounded too clean and contrived. Linda Perry (writer/producer is a real genious), and records her tracks kinda by feel, and has NO regard for traditional engineering techniques. That is what makes her so special. When I heard the bleed, I thought it would send a message to all the big time engineers (especially the older ones) that it's about the music and song, and not US. I REALLY love it, 'cause most engineers would have removed it, and taken some of the personality away. Damn I'm arrogant. Sorry, but you asked.
1st October 2004
Old 1st October 2004
Lives for gear

Send a message via AIM to Chris Parsons
Good for you Dave for standing out in a good way, and having the balls to do it. I must admit, when I first heard that tune I figured that the engineer was a dope and didn't notice it. What an ignorant thought that was... It became very clear the it was intentional.