determining latency times
Subscribe
likefire
15th April 2004
Old 15th April 2004
Gear interested

determining latency times

Charles,

I'm not a protools user (i'm a cubase user), but i have found a lot of the threads on this board very insightful for people who are mixing entire recordings in the computer. I have applied some of your tips and tricks with great results.

Anyways, my question is you have mentioned in your drum setup, that you delay the drum bus by a certain amount of samples to eliminate phase issues with the squash bus. I know all plugins must cause some delay issues, so how do you determine the delay that is inherrent with each plugin?

I'm sure there must be a way to calculate this, I am just not sure how.

Like i said, i use cubase but i have a feeling that there's ways to figure out this delay that is not program specific.

Thanks again for all the insights to mixing, I have grown more in the week of stumbling across this forum and your HDL than i have in months.

bryan
15th April 2004
Old 15th April 2004
FX smörgåsbord user

Bryan,

Thank you very much for your compliments. I'm glad I could be of help.

Re latency, PT will actually report the processing time for a plug-in in samples by command-clicking on the fader's volume indicator of the track in question. If Cubase does not have a similar function, the processing delays should be documented somewhere (online, manual, users forum) so that you can calculate it. I also recommend you ask the question of how to calculate the delay @ your users forum. Are there any other Cubase users here who could help?

If that doesn't do it, you can manually calculate the delay by placing one fader out of phase and "sliding" it until the two completely cancel:
  • Place all plug-ins on the Squish track in bypass. Not deactivated. You want them to cause the delay without processing the signal.
  • Place both the Drums + Squish faders @ 0 dB.