Login / Register
 
Cedar DNS 2000 throwing audio out of sync
New Reply
Subscribe
srheiss
Thread Starter
#1
26th March 2013
Old 26th March 2013
  #1
Gear interested
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Burbank

Thread Starter
srheiss is offline
Cedar DNS 2000 throwing audio out of sync

Hey everyone. I was wondering if any of you have had this happen to you before, and what might be the culprit behind it.

I was mixing a spot last week where I ran 75% of the production audio through a Cedar DNS 2000. It was all off screen, so there was no reason for me to question sync, but when I handed it off the editor he came back and told me most of my audio was 3 1/2-4 frames out (late) from his guide track. I opened up the session, and realized everything that went out to the Cedar was off.

I put the outputs of the dialog track out the left speaker, and a send on the dialog track to the Cedar and out the right speaker. It was ping ponging back and forth. I then opened a new session, imported the same audio to it, did the same thing and everything was in sync. That would pretty much mean that something in my session was causing the delay?? I can't for the life of me figure out what it might be though. Has anyone experienced anything like this before or might know what could have happened? Any enlightenment would be much appreciated!
#2
26th March 2013
Old 26th March 2013
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Henchman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 8,583
My Recordings/Credits

Henchman is offline
You probably had the controller plugin on the same track as t he actual insert.
Move the rtas plugin to a dummy track and control it from there.
srheiss
Thread Starter
#3
26th March 2013
Old 26th March 2013
  #3
Gear interested
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Burbank

Thread Starter
srheiss is offline
That's exactly what the problem was. Thanks so much Mark!
#4
27th March 2013
Old 27th March 2013
  #4
Lives for gear
 
ggegan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: The Heart of Screenland
Posts: 2,069

ggegan is offline
There is also a lot less latency if it is the first plugin in the chain, even if it is on the source audio track.
__________________
Gary Gegan
srheiss
Thread Starter
#5
30th March 2013
Old 30th March 2013
  #5
Gear interested
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Burbank

Thread Starter
srheiss is offline
Good to know Gary. Thanks!
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
Remoteness / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
30
gsilbers / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
12
kragg / Electronic Music Instruments & Electronic Music Production
12
djbizness / Rap + Hip Hop engineering & production
1
Jay Kahrs / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
72

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.