Login / Register
 
Any experience with CrashPlan Pro?
New Reply
Subscribe
Max Holland
Thread Starter
#1
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #1
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 249

Thread Starter
Max Holland is offline
Any experience with CrashPlan Pro?

Looking into offsite backup to run in addition to our network backup solution at work.

2 Pro Tools HD rigs with multiple internal SATA drives
1 Business computer with account files etc.


Seems CrashPlan Pro is the best solution, we have a 100mb up/down fibre line at that this will run on separate from our regular internet service.


Any horror stories? Seems crashplan is the only service that keeps deleted files, so if we blow away some old sessions at work completely we can still recover. We wont be backing up any video media, just pro tools sessions and audio files.
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
NYC
#2
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #2
Gear maniac
 
Dallas Taylor's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 187

Send a message via Skype™ to Dallas Taylor
Dallas Taylor is offline
We use CPP here at Defacto and currently have over 3TB backed up. (we also have a fast 150/50 internet connection) The initial backup took about 45 days. Beyond that, I don't even think about it. Everything gets done automatically.

Out of all the testing we've done, it seems to be operating smoothly. (pulled down test sessions, checked... all good)

Thankfully, I haven't had any catastrophic on-site data failures, so I can't speak to a full restore. We're quadruple redundant here on site and CPP is only our very last resort in case of fire, studio damage, etc... I'm too paranoid to use it as our only backup option.
__________________

DALLAS TAYLOR CAS/MPSE
/// Sound Designer/Mixer @ Defacto \\\ Twitter Facebook
Max Holland
Thread Starter
#3
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #3
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 249

Thread Starter
Max Holland is offline
We currently back up to a network share and have critical projects backed up to drives. but I want something offsite.


Do you have the file compression turned on? not sure if it would affect pro tools sessions.
#4
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #4
Gear maniac
 
Dallas Taylor's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 187

Send a message via Skype™ to Dallas Taylor
Dallas Taylor is offline
I see. I think CPP would be great in that case.

I had to check my settings to see if I had the compression on and I apparently I do. We've downloaded and checked quite a few large sessions and they've been fine.

Considering CPP is so cheap, it's definitely worth a shot.
#5
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #5
Gear addict
 
insomaniac's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Send a message via Skype™ to insomaniac
insomaniac is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallas Taylor View Post
I see. I think CPP would be great in that case.

I had to check my settings to see if I had the compression on and I apparently I do. We've downloaded and checked quite a few large sessions and they've been fine.

Considering CPP is so cheap, it's definitely worth a shot.
+1, I have CPP and everything just works. I try and keep a local backup of things as well, but knowing that everything is available offsite makes me feel a lot better about my data.
__________________
Sam Ejnes
Recordist / Sound Editor/Re-recording Mixer

samejnes.com | IMDb | Analog Jitter
Max Holland
Thread Starter
#6
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #6
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 249

Thread Starter
Max Holland is offline
with CPP it seems if I delete an old session, as long as it was backed up once I can recover it because it keeps deleted files. is this right?
#7
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #7
Gear addict
 
Joined: Aug 2007

ThisIsSka is offline
Argh, not available in Europe or the Middle East. Gobbler seems to have a cap too, any alternatives to CPP available for us in foreign lands?
#8
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #8
Gear maniac
 
Dallas Taylor's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 187

Send a message via Skype™ to Dallas Taylor
Dallas Taylor is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Holland View Post
with CPP it seems if I delete an old session, as long as it was backed up once I can recover it because it keeps deleted files. is this right?
In theory, yes, but I haven't done a full test of this. I would call up CPP and ask them. I've called them before, and they were excellent.
#9
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #9
Gear addict
 
NReichman's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 339

NReichman is offline
I used to use Backblaze, but didn't like the connected drive limitation.

I'm using Crashplan on (4) Macs now. If you set "remove deleted files" to never, it will keep everything.

So far, Crashplan has performed well on individual computers with one internal drive. My Mac Pro with (8) external drives is not completing its backups to Crashplan. I'm not sure why yet, but will contact support.

In the meantime, I'm taking Arq connected to Amazon Glacier for a test spin. So far it's promising. I'll post again when I know more.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Rhumba Recorders/Murmur Music
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
TonyBelmont / Music Computers
230
BreakonThru5 / Music Computers
1

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.