Login / Register
 
Stereo to LCR atmos
New Reply
Subscribe
idris
Thread Starter
#1
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #1
Gear Head
 
idris's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 35

Thread Starter
idris is offline
Stereo to LCR atmos

I need to provide LCR atmos beds. They're predominantly for adding to existing mono location sound.
As I have no surround atmos in my library, I am planning something along the following lines:

Example ...
1min of LCR bed needed.
2min of stereo atmos FX available.
Solution ...
Use first min of FX track as LR.
Use one leg of the second min of FX track as C.

Does this make sense, or is there a better approach?
#2
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,498

apple-q is offline
yes makes sense.
#3
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #3
Gear nut
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 103

myke2242 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by idris View Post
I need to provide LCR atmos beds. They're predominantly for adding to existing mono location sound.
As I have no surround atmos in my library, I am planning something along the following lines:

Example ...
1min of LCR bed needed.
2min of stereo atmos FX available.
Solution ...
Use first min of FX track as LR.
Use one leg of the second min of FX track as C.

Does this make sense, or is there a better approach?
You may have some issues with that method. The C channel may not match your L & R channels. a example would be if there is a gust of wind. the gust would be in the L & R but not in the center. Your method could also have some phasing issues.

What i would do:

if you are using PT make a LCR (or 5.1, doesnt matter) BG master aux. send all BG track outputs to the BG master. Now make sure your are not panned hard L or R. now you have LCR BG's
idris
Thread Starter
#4
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #4
Gear Head
 
idris's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 35

Thread Starter
idris is offline
Myke, that's what I would have done myself, but I've been asked to supply a seperate centre, "so the centre level can be adjusted on its own fader.
#5
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #5
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 902

ErikG is offline
What is it for?
In general a lcr ambiance will be made up of a number of elements in editing. Not only of a single recording.
__________________
Europa Sound & Vision
Euphonix 32 fader S5MC + stand alone MC, Nuendo x 9, Protools x 7
Dub stage with HD projection (13m throw), VVTR,
and a complete picture department with online, grading and more based on Mistika.
http://www.europasoundvision.se
#6
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #6
Gear nut
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 103

myke2242 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by idris View Post
Myke, that's what I would have done myself, but I've been asked to supply a seperate centre, "so the centre level can be adjusted on its own fader.
Yes what is this for. That is something normally the mixer would do. If you are just grouping elements for assembly i would still do the same thing.

use my example but switch out or add a LCR audio track in between. When you find a BG you like just re-record it as a LCR. it is a bit of extra work but you would had to listen to them anyways.
#7
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #7
Gear nut
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 103

myke2242 is offline
Or you can do this... dup the stereo BG. process one of the sets as MS. The left channel will become your new Center channel. Discard the processed Right channel and add the Center to your unprocessed stereo BG's.
#8
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #8
Lives for gear
 
ggegan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: The Heart of Screenland
Posts: 2,171

ggegan is offline
Just take the left and right channels of the recording and bus both channels to a mono audio track and rerecord it, then use it for the center and keep the original stereo recording bussed hard left and right. You'll have to make sure that the sync is sample accurate.

Typically I don't bother doing that, I create a specific BG food group out of a number of different elements, some of which are stereo and some mono.
__________________
Gary Gegan
#9
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #9
Lives for gear
 
nzl62's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 509

nzl62 is offline
Personally I tend to create atmos beds from several layers, some mono, some stereo and infrequently, 5.1 etc
That way you create whatever balance you want. In a typical atmos predub I will have anywhere from 2-4 mono up the centre for dx fill and the more active stuf LR or LR LsRs with some divergence to pull a bit into the centre or to tuck the spread in at the rears or whatever. I never try to do it all with one file
#10
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
  #10
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Oslo, Norway

Willeyh is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by idris View Post
Myke, that's what I would have done myself, but I've been asked to supply a seperate centre, "so the centre level can be adjusted on its own fader.
Or just set up 2 auxes 1 for LR and one for C. Send The same signal to both then output both to your 5.0/1 atmos master bus. (Dont forget to turn down C volume from The LR AUX.)

Now you have a separate fader for C.

Why make it so difficult?
#11
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
  #11
Lives for gear
 
danijel's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,057
My Recordings/Credits

danijel is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by myke2242 View Post
You may have some issues with that method. The C channel may not match your L & R channels. a example would be if there is a gust of wind. the gust would be in the L & R but not in the center. Your method could also have some phasing issues.

What i would do:

if you are using PT make a LCR (or 5.1, doesnt matter) BG master aux. send all BG track outputs to the BG master. Now make sure your are not panned hard L or R. now you have LCR BG's
Myke, your method will more likely produce phasing issues than the OP's. If there is any imperfection down the reproduction/downmix chain, you will have the same signal delayed by different amounts in different channels. That could make it sound only a little different in discreete reproduction, but make a wreck in downmix. I'm doing both methods myself, but as far as phasing issues, I don't see any problem with the OP's method.
__________________
www.danijelmilosevic.com
#12
16th February 2013
Old 16th February 2013
  #12
Gear nut
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 103

myke2242 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by danijel View Post
Myke, your method will more likely produce phasing issues than the OP's. If there is any imperfection down the reproduction/downmix chain, you will have the same signal delayed by different amounts in different channels. That could make it sound only a little different in discreete reproduction, but make a wreck in downmix. I'm doing both methods myself, but as far as phasing issues, I don't see any problem with the OP's method.
i have never had a issue. sometimes there is very little difference between front and rears of 5.0 recordings although here we are talking about LCR so there will be no rear. Who is OP? btw i checked the MS method had no phase issues either.
idris
Thread Starter
#13
16th February 2013
Old 16th February 2013
  #13
Gear Head
 
idris's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 35

Thread Starter
idris is offline
Thanks for all the input. I think I know which approach I'm going to take now.
#14
17th February 2013
Old 17th February 2013
  #14
Lives for gear
 
danijel's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,057
My Recordings/Credits

danijel is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by myke2242 View Post
i have never had a issue. sometimes there is very little difference between front and rears of 5.0 recordings although here we are talking about LCR so there will be no rear. Who is OP? btw i checked the MS method had no phase issues either.
I personally don't care if some playback system down the road will have inter-channel delay/phase issues, but I'm just saying that the OPs method is less likely to have phase issues..... 'OP' is short for 'original poster', or the person who started the thread.
#15
17th February 2013
Old 17th February 2013
  #15
Lives for gear
 
nzl62's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 509

nzl62 is offline
you have to be wary about phase issues in foldown to stereo LoRo where it can get phasey sounding or LtRt where you get a weird balance shift into surrounds due to decoding.
So check the foldowns and f they are cool you good to go. Personally I build LCR and 5.0 ambiences from multiple (mostly stereo and mono) elements - see above.
#16
17th February 2013
Old 17th February 2013
  #16
Gear Guru
 
charles maynes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: out in the dirt.
Posts: 15,907

charles maynes is offline
maximum de-correalation is always going to be best for any steering systems- I know in the past i have had to do fixes for material that went funny when doing Dolby Surround deliveries... BG's arent going to usually have specific panning in their elements- and if worse came to worse, you could use something like Anymix, UM226 or Spanner to fill in your dead zones.
__________________
Charles Maynes credits
Charles' webpage



“Judging others makes us blind, whereas love is illuminating. By judging others we blind ourselves to our own evil and to the grace which others are just as entitled to as we are.”
? Dietrich Bonhoeffer, The Cost of Discipleship
#17
17th February 2013
Old 17th February 2013
  #17
Gear nut
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 103

myke2242 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by danijel View Post
I personally don't care if some playback system down the road will have inter-channel delay/phase issues, but I'm just saying that the OPs method is less likely to have phase issues..... 'OP' is short for 'original poster', or the person who started the thread.
I understand. we are kind of playing with fire on the decode. i would just worry that the elements being out of context and not matching enough. I wonder where this is going to be mixed...
#18
19th February 2013
Old 19th February 2013
  #18
Lives for gear
 
soundboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 913

soundboy is offline
How 'bout routing the stereo out to a LCR track and using a little divergence to create your C? Re record it, and done. Anymix is nice too.
__________________
Charles Dayton, CAS MPSE
Twisted Avocado Post Audio
Partial credits:
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0206743/
#19
21st February 2013
Old 21st February 2013
  #19
Gear Head
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 55

maggot is offline
I use a Spanner on every track, no matter the format, and if I think a stereo or quad element needs to bleed into the C channel I just toe in a little using Spanner.

but as a few have said, you're always better to find more of the same and cut it for the center channel.
you can sync up wind gusts etc so it sounds like a real event.

justin
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
leon / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
11
bongo / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
25
ISedlacek / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
97
A27Hull / Geekslutz forum
36
Douglas Whates / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
15

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.