WLM / EBU R128 specs question
New Reply
Subscribe
velocityraptor
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Gear interested

WLM / EBU R128 specs question

Can somebody please explain in layman's terms a few things about the EBU R-128 standard and its relation to the Waves Loudness Meter.

Specifically I'm mixing an amateur short film that will mostly be shown online, so I'm aiming for just a touch louder than a DVD mix which I understand to require -23LUFS.

Using the WLM my mix is currently sitting at -19LUFS (Long Term) with a -1.5dbTP. However the Range is 26LU. Can somebody with a bit more experience tell me if this range is a bit too high for the online world? Is some compression in order?

Also, when I read about +/- 1LU in the EBU R-128 specs (-23LUFS +/-1LU), what specifically in WLM would that refer to?

Edit: I should also probably mention I'm using my university computers for WLM and I'm pretty new at this...
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Gear maniac

Last time I checked there was no standard for internet broadcast.
I generally mix to -3dBFS with a -12dB threshold for web stuff and check that on Macbook speakers set around 40-50%.

But if you are mixing to the standard your long term should be -23LUFS with a -1dBTP.
Haven´t mixed to that spec myself so I´m not sure how it translates to web.
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

For Youtube, R128 translates fine.
Of course I do not know for sure if Youtube compression changes levels and/or dynamics, I do not think so.

but for the internet, louder is still better (for most customers)
13th February 2013
Old 13th February 2013
Lives for gear

Hi,