Login / Register
 
PT 10 win -> mac, experiences?
New Reply
Subscribe
cebolao
Thread Starter
#1
11th February 2013
Old 11th February 2013
  #1
Lives for gear
 
cebolao's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 686

Thread Starter
cebolao is offline
PT 10 win -> mac, experiences?

Our sound editor wants to work on his windows protools 10, we have a mac in our studio. A little bit scared. In theory it should work...

Do you have some experiences with such a workflow? Any problems?

It's gonna be a huge feature film, we dont need any troubles here...
#2
11th February 2013
Old 11th February 2013
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 519

brandoncross is offline
I move from my windows 7 pt 10 hdx1 to Macs of all kinds from pt8-9 tdm to pt 10 hdx. I have been doing this for years 8 years now. No issues. I would just make sure your sound editor knows what he is doing in this regard.
The only time I've had an issue is when I've done a save session copy in. I always manage the files in my session my self.
Let me know if you have any additional questions. BTW I'm not surprised he want to use his rig. Pro tools really runs great on windows!
#3
11th February 2013
Old 11th February 2013
  #3
Gear addict
 
Andrew Mottl's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 317

Andrew Mottl is offline
Only problems I've seen in years were when mac sessions had a leading space in audio file names (i.e. Win thinks "steps01" and " steps01" are identical, makes copying to ntfs a problem). So watch out when naming tracks/files.
Apart from that, sessions work fine, and MacDrive allows integration of HFS disks for Win editors.
cebolao
Thread Starter
#4
11th February 2013
Old 11th February 2013
  #4
Lives for gear
 
cebolao's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 686

Thread Starter
cebolao is offline
That's good news, thanks
#5
11th February 2013
Old 11th February 2013
  #5
Gear interested
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 19

Stereoface is offline
The only thing that changes is the modifier keys. Also if you use a keyboard macro application you wont be able to use your peraonalized macros cross platform. Unless there's a cross platform macro utility but I doubt one exists
#6
11th February 2013
Old 11th February 2013
  #6
Gear addict
 
Sonsey@mac.com's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 460

Sonsey@mac.com is offline
MacDrive for him, Paragon NTFS for you guys... just to solve any weird NTFS/HFS issues.
__________________
Howard Sonnenburg
Composer/Sound Designer/Engineer/Gadabout
www.sonsey.com
"Nice Camera... how's the f#$%ing script?" - Adrian Langley
#7
11th February 2013
Old 11th February 2013
  #7
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 519

brandoncross is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Mottl View Post
Only problems I've seen in years were when mac sessions had a leading space in audio file names (i.e. Win thinks "steps01" and " steps01" are identical, makes copying to ntfs a problem). So watch out when naming tracks/files.
Apart from that, sessions work fine, and MacDrive allows integration of HFS disks for Win editors.
Not an issue. In this case you just link via the unique id.
#8
11th February 2013
Old 11th February 2013
  #8
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 519

brandoncross is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonsey@mac.com View Post
MacDrive for him, Paragon NTFS for you guys... just to solve any weird NTFS/HFS issues.
I just always formate my transfer drives as hfs+. All post studios are osx but me. I just make sure I'm compatible.
#9
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #9
Gear addict
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 411

londonengineer is offline
With the imminent demise of the Mac Pro I see this getting a more and more frequent question!
#10
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
  #10
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: London
Posts: 716

FullFrequency is offline
I work in an all pc facility and do bits of sound design at home on an old Mac Pro. When I bring work either way it's never a problem. Pt10 everywhere.
__________________
FF

dubbing mixer / sound designer and all things post sound related!
My IMDB
My Full Credits
My 2011 Showreel
#11
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
  #11
Gear addict
 
Andrew Mottl's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 317

Andrew Mottl is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandoncross View Post
Not an issue. In this case you just link via the unique id.
It is awkward in that you have to rename the files before copying though.
#12
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
  #12
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 519

brandoncross is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Mottl View Post
It is awkward in that you have to rename the files before copying though.
I never rename anything. When delinking on the windows or osx computer, I first link with name and Id. If some didnt get found, I commit links and then link the rest via just id. Done. The extra step might take an extra 10 seconds.
#13
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
  #13
Gear addict
 
Andrew Mottl's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 317

Andrew Mottl is offline
What I originally meant was: Try copying a foley session from an HFS drive to an NTFS drive that has both "steps01.wav" and " steps01.wav". Windows will treat both as "steps01.wav" and ask to overwrite the other file. Linking with IDs isn't a problem in any case, but actually having to manually heave over so and so many files is annoying.
#14
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
  #14
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 519

brandoncross is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Mottl View Post
What I originally meant was: Try copying a foley session from an HFS drive to an NTFS drive that has both "steps01.wav" and " steps01.wav". Windows will treat both as "steps01.wav" and ask to overwrite the other file. Linking with IDs isn't a problem in any case, but actually having to manually heave over so and so many files is annoying.
Gotta, yeah that would be a pain.
#15
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
  #15
Gear addict
 
Andrew Mottl's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 317

Andrew Mottl is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandoncross View Post
Gotta, yeah that would be a pain.
+1 !!!!!!!!!!
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
Local 47 / So much gear, so little time!
53

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.