Login / Register

Rerecording Mixers Chime In! Boom or Lav?
New Reply
Subscribe
t_young
6th February 2013
Old 6th February 2013
Gear nut

Rerecording Mixers Chime In! Boom or Lav?

First, I'm actually posting this as an editor-- not a mixer. And a relatively new editor at that. I've been doing post for a couple years, so I have a little experience, and some points of reference for what I'm about to ask... But I'm still curious enough to ask, since there are a lot of well respected rerecording mixers here.

When you get your dialog edit, headed into the mix, I'm wondering:

How often are you, if ever, presented with both sets of mics-- fully edited?

If you are presented with that option, do you usually have a go to track? My assumption has always been boom-- since 90% of the time it sounds most natural to my ear, but maybe you guys actually throw in the lav more often than I think?

If you aren't presented with that option, do you wish that you were? To me it seems like extra time and work, having to sort through which tracks are better on the stage. I've always edited using my best judgement, editing in which mics sound most natural, and cut the best together (again, almost always boom).

I'm asking firstly because I'm curious to know your guy's thoughts on booms vs lavs, but also because I'm editing on a feature now, and I've been asked to provide a boom edit (and deliver the session with those tracks muted), as well as checker-boarding out the lavs for each scene also. To me, this feels like being asked to edit each real twice in the same amount of time I would normally do one edit. But maybe this is actually standard practice?

Thanks guys! I know that was a long couple of questions.
6th February 2013
Old 6th February 2013
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

Never both. Just the best sounding.
I don't have time to sort through tracks to find which mic is the best.
It doesn't matter if the boom sounds the most natural, if there's issues with it.
t_young