Venue Pro Tools system crashed ...
New Reply
Subscribe
jwh1192
25th January 2013
Old 25th January 2013
Lives for gear

Venue Pro Tools system crashed ...

hi, i work as a technical producer for television, remote capture of music mostly. had to do a high end celebrity fund raiser a week or so ago. sound company had an SC48 rig with pro tools integration. half way through the show the FOH guy tells me on headset that pro tools crashed so there would be a gap in the multi-track. this multi-track was the backup in case the 2-mix had any unforeseen issues. MusicMixMobile out of NYC & LA are one of the only companies I see that have NO Seen PT issues ...

i have lost all confidence in Avid for Live Capture ... Joe Co Blackbox "type" device will now be added to all shows as a backup to the backup ... or most likely PT will become the backup to the Joe Co.

i have been privy to see and record many shows with pro tools myself and have run out of fingers to how many issues I have seen over the years.

Avid can make a Venue system that is the desk crashes your settings stay the same when the desk comes back up (scary that they had to build that in) but they cannot make a pro tools rig that will do the same ... Not Crash completely ...

i am happy that we have folks like M3 and others to take the burden of this stress out of our hands ... this job just did not have the Funds for them to be involved.

just a rainy friday rant ... thank s for listening

john
25th January 2013
Old 25th January 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh1192 View Post