VO teleprompter discussion
New Reply
Subscribe
mart
27th December 2012
Old 27th December 2012
Gear nut

VO teleprompter discussion

first of all, my background is almost 100% music production, but I have a voice over recording in my studio soon, where two speakers will be reading a long script, approx. 1 hour of continuous audio, not synced to picture.

I would like to avoid having them read from printed pages of paper, so it seems there are basically three options: 1. two ipads 2. two lcd screens 3. one beamer
all running with some teleprompter software. Does anyone have any recommendations based on personal experience?

In my experience it is really hard to get the speakers up close in front of the mic, if they have to read off of a script. I had to back off the microphone on previous sessions to get any kind of consistency with the speakers heads moving from left to right as they read off of two pages of paper. Consequently I had to dig in with EQ (think smiley curve) to get a nice clear and appealing result, which could have been avoided if I'd had more freedom in mic positioning.
27th December 2012
Old 27th December 2012
Lives for gear

For VO you need a mic that works well off axis, try another mic.
I have used iPads to read off, works well especially if its synced with the producers laptop for script changes..
Talent generally like to use paper rather than an ipad, If you go with the ipad you'll need a good adjustable lectern
mart
27th December 2012
Old 27th December 2012
Gear nut

thanks your comment! I am sure a wider cardioid pattern would improve the consistency, but what I'd really like to do is improve the text presentation in order to be able to move in a bit closer with the microphone. A general problem is that the speakers always talk with their heads nodded down to the paper and that I cannot place the microphone in this position as of course this would cover the text

interesting to know though that most people still prefer good old paper sheets!