Dialogue editors in UK
New Reply
Subscribe
EmilieB
17th December 2012
Old 17th December 2012
Gear interested

Dialogue editors in UK

I'm a dialogue editor in Canada. Although originally from England, all my training and experience in Post Production has been in Canada. It was never my intention to settle here but one year somehow turned into five.... but I'm hoping to move back to England next year.

Anyway!

I work full time at a post house in Toronto as a dialogue and ADR editor. We are one of the main facilities in town with 3 sound stages, 2 ADR studios, 1 foley, in house editors & mixers... etc I deal with dialogue and ADR only. Cutting sync, evaluating for ADR, recording ADR, cutting ADR.

My question is, is there much demand for a "dialogue editor" in the UK? I know they exist but I get the impression that editors would probably do the SFX and dialogue and maybe even be a dubbing mixer too....? Would I struggle to find work specifically in the dialogue editing field in the UK? Or do I need to be good at sound design and mixing in order to cut it?

I know in Canada there is a lot of ADR work. I spend a lot of time doing ADR. Whereas in the UK I don't think ADR is implemented as much....?

Any advice about life in audio post in the UK would be really appreciated.
19th December 2012
Old 19th December 2012
Gear maniac

I don't know much (anything) about the scene in Toronto, but London is one of the biggest filmmaking hubs in the world so there is a lot going on.

On TV drama and features you will find dedicated dialogue and sfx editors (and ADR mixers) to the degree that you will pretty much have to choose which career path to pursue in order to be taken seriously. There is also a lot of ADR work happening around for local and international shows. On the TV light entertainment/reality/etc. scene I believe it's much more one person operation, but I don't have much experience there.