Mixing For CALM Act
New Reply
Subscribe
Sbmusicandpost
14th November 2012
Old 14th November 2012
Gear Head

Mixing For CALM Act

How are you guys mixing for the impending CALM act broadcasters are being obligated to abide by?

How and what are you guys metering your mixes with and how do they sound on air?

I understand its the broadcasters responsibility to adjust the mixes accordingly but I'm wondering if quality control starts at the media creation phase.

thoughts? tips? techniques?

(I have plenty of experience with the LM100 / Dolby Media Meter for dial norm for discovery / PBS specs)
15th November 2012
Old 15th November 2012
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

I have always tried to mix to spec. And I still do. I always am checking with the layback reason to make sure I am in spec, as I don't want to hear a drastically different mix on air vs studio.
15th November 2012
Old 15th November 2012
Gear Head

Our local NBC affiliate does a good job of keeping everything in spec. I'm pretty sure I can hear a limiter kick in at the very beginning of spots that were mixed too loud. The ads I mix at -24 to -23 LKFS and -10 DBFS peak (stereo) sound just like they did in studio and fit very well with everything around them. I used to mix with a fairly aggressive compressor on the mix bus, but now I just manage the dynamics of the dialogue with a chain of a few plugins that each add a little gain and compression. Most music is already dynamically compressed and doesn't need to be squashed more! Digital broadcasting is a big step forward in quality in my opinion. if I mix to spec, my mixes are literally left alone in the broadcast chain. I measure my mixes with Waves WLM.
15th November 2012
Old 15th November 2012
Gear addict