Login / Register
 
Mac mini server 2011 rocks for post
New Reply
Subscribe
#121
20th December 2012
Old 20th December 2012
  #121
Gear addict
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 485

brandoncross is offline
We tried using a Mac mini 2011 with thunderbolt as a video satellite. The thin can barely play a QuickTime in pro tools. How could it ever run a session?
#122
20th December 2012
Old 20th December 2012
  #122
GS Community Manager
 
Whitecat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Surrey / London
Posts: 9,198
My Recordings/Credits

Whitecat is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandoncross View Post
We tried using a Mac mini 2011 with thunderbolt as a video satellite. The thin can barely play a QuickTime in pro tools. How could it ever run a session?
Something has to be wrong with your config. I've now done a feature documentary and three short dramas on my mini (server) and it barely hiccups.
__________________
Scott J. - Gearslutz.com Community Manager

Gearslutz on Facebook!

My personal Twitter - @WhitecatTV
#123
20th December 2012
Old 20th December 2012
  #123
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 606

smurfyou is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandoncross View Post
We tried using a Mac mini 2011 with thunderbolt as a video satellite. The thin can barely play a QuickTime in pro tools. How could it ever run a session?
Were you using the Mini Server or stock Mini? Did you disable the server software or downgrade the OS?

There are several success stories here, enough to (almost) convince me to buy one.
__________________
~Will
#124
20th December 2012
Old 20th December 2012
  #124
Gear nut
 
misscc803's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Roswell, GA

misscc803 is offline
Seems like he may have been using a regular Mac mini.


Nicole
#125
20th December 2012
Old 20th December 2012
  #125
Gear addict
 
matt82aust's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 407

matt82aust is online now
I always thought the original minis had a dedicated graphics card? The servers don't, however I have had very few issues playing back HD video over thunderbolt (much better an a Avid Mojo could ever perform).

Try a different codec?
__________________
Matt Perrott
Sound Designer
www.mattperrott.tv
#126
20th December 2012
Old 20th December 2012
  #126
Gear nut
 
Leverson's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles

Leverson is offline
I agree. I've done a feature doc, an indie feature, and 3 decently complex shorts on my 2011 mac mini server and I haven't had any hardware complaints and definitely no problems on Quicktime playback. I do have 16gigs of RAM in it, that helps a lot with PT10.
#127
21st December 2012
Old 21st December 2012
  #127
Gear addict
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 485

brandoncross is offline
You know, it's a studio I freelance at but no way would I think about using the vid sat there for any real work. It can barely host a screen share. It's probably just set up incorrectly.
#128
22nd December 2012
Old 22nd December 2012
  #128
Gear addict
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 485

brandoncross is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandoncross View Post
We tried using a Mac mini 2011 with thunderbolt as a video satellite. The thin can barely play a QuickTime in pro tools. How could it ever run a session?
An update. It's a i5 dual core Mac mini. Video via black magic thunderbolt hdmi converter. Today we switched the video to the hdmi on the Mac mini and it played well. Maybe a beefier Mac mini would work for some post mixes.
#129
23rd December 2012
Old 23rd December 2012
  #129
GS Community Manager
 
Whitecat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Surrey / London
Posts: 9,198
My Recordings/Credits

Whitecat is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandoncross View Post
An update. It's a i5 dual core Mac mini. Video via black magic thunderbolt hdmi converter. Today we switched the video to the hdmi on the Mac mini and it played well. Maybe a beefier Mac mini would work for some post mixes.
The 2011 server is a quad-core i7 which is quite a bit quicker than the dual-core i5s...
#130
23rd December 2012
Old 23rd December 2012
  #130
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 606

smurfyou is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitecat View Post
The 2011 server is a quad-core i7 which is quite a bit quicker than the dual-core i5s...
True, but it should still be able to play a video just fine. If they were playing it off the internal drive that's probably the issue. The drive might not be fast enough for an HD stream?
#131
24th December 2012
Old 24th December 2012
  #131
Gear addict
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 485

brandoncross is offline
No it was just the black magic ultrastudio thunderbolt thing. Horrible performance. Internal hdmi worked fine. Video was on an external FireWire btw.
#132
7th January 2013
Old 7th January 2013
  #132
Gear interested
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2

MrSAS is offline
No luck with downloading SL Instaler.dmg

After 1Gb server is braking connection and no RESTORE allowed.
Anyone from Europe had more luck?
Maybe it can be divided into smaller parts?
#133
16th January 2013
Old 16th January 2013
  #133
Gear interested
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 22

ChrisBrunoMusic is offline
I've seen a lot of people promote the Refurb 2011 Server i7 with dual 7200 drives. It's a good deal right now on apple at $750 but is it worth saving $50 over the new 2.3 i7 with 1TB 5400 drive and the extra $80 for a 500 GB, 7200 rpm internal from OWC??

Upgrading RAM would be the same for both so that aside.... $750 for the 2.0 GHz or $870 for a new 2.3 GHz with the after market OWC Drive. Any positive or negative? I am running PT10, Tracking (12 tracks sim) and mixing full sessions with plugs.

Cheers
Henchman
Thread Starter
#134
16th January 2013
Old 16th January 2013
  #134
Lives for gear
 
Henchman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 8,580
My Recordings/Credits

Thread Starter
Henchman is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBrunoMusic View Post
I've seen a lot of people promote the Refurb 2011 Server i7 with dual 7200 drives. It's a good deal right now on apple at $750 but is it worth saving $50 over the new 2.3 i7 with 1TB 5400 drive and the extra $80 for a 500 GB, 7200 rpm internal from OWC??

Upgrading RAM would be the same for both so that aside.... $750 for the 2.0 GHz or $870 for a new 2.3 GHz with the after market OWC Drive. Any positive or negative? I am running PT10, Tracking (12 tracks sim) and mixing full sessions with plugs.

Cheers
It's definitely a good deal.
Unless you need to run snow leopard for backwards compatability with some programs.
#135
16th January 2013
Old 16th January 2013
  #135
Gear interested
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 22

ChrisBrunoMusic is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henchman View Post
It's definitely a good deal.
Unless you need to run snow leopard for backwards compatability with some programs.
Nope, don't need SL.

Guess I'm just wondering if it is worth the $120 for the faster processor and newer version.

Cheers
Henchman
Thread Starter
#136
16th January 2013
Old 16th January 2013
  #136
Lives for gear
 
Henchman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 8,580
My Recordings/Credits

Thread Starter
Henchman is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBrunoMusic View Post
Nope, don't need SL.

Guess I'm just wondering if it is worth the $120 for the faster processor and newer version.

Cheers
I don't really know to be honest.
You can't go wrong either way, I think.
#137
17th January 2013
Old 17th January 2013
  #137
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 786

vudoo is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBrunoMusic View Post
Nope, don't need SL.

Guess I'm just wondering if it is worth the $120 for the faster processor and newer version.

Cheers
Go with the new mini 2.3/i7, i own both the 2011 server and the 2012 (2.3/i7) non server. I noticed a good 20-30% improvements with the 2012 model. I'm using them as dedicated VIs machines.
#138
8th February 2013
Old 8th February 2013
  #138
Gear nut
 
misscc803's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Roswell, GA

misscc803 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by vudoo View Post
Go with the new mini 2.3/i7, i own both the 2011 server and the 2012 (2.3/i7) non server. I noticed a good 20-30% improvements with the 2012 model. I'm using them as dedicated VIs machines.

I am looking at getting one finally and was wondering is having the 5400rpm drives a major setback verses the 7200rpm?

I would be using mines for Nuendo and sometimes Pro Tools.

Thanks
Nicole
__________________
Nicole Hankerson
Location and Post Sound
ccproductions803@gmail.com

www.ccproductions803.com
www.facebook.com/ccproductions803
#139
8th February 2013
Old 8th February 2013
  #139
Lives for gear
 
Mundox's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 545

Mundox is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by misscc803 View Post
I am looking at getting one finally and was wondering is having the 5400rpm drives a major setback verses the 7200rpm?
Definitely.
#140
8th February 2013
Old 8th February 2013
  #140
Gear addict
 
NReichman's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 315

NReichman is offline
Quote:
I am looking at getting one finally and was wondering is having the 5400rpm drives a major setback verses the 7200rpm?
In my experience with OSX laptops, you can feel the difference between 5200 and 7200 rpm right away in application launch time, user interface save functions, even web browsing.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Rhumba Recorders/Murmur Music
#141
8th February 2013
Old 8th February 2013
  #141
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 786

vudoo is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by misscc803 View Post
I am looking at getting one finally and was wondering is having the 5400rpm drives a major setback verses the 7200rpm?

I would be using mines for Nuendo and sometimes Pro Tools.

Thanks
Nicole
My mini has the Fusion drive....it's fast!!!!
#142
9th February 2013
Old 9th February 2013
  #142
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 606

smurfyou is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by NReichman View Post
In my experience with OSX laptops, you can feel the difference between 5200 and 7200 rpm right away in application launch time, user interface save functions, even web browsing.
Ditto.
#143
10th February 2013
Old 10th February 2013
  #143
Gear nut
 
misscc803's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Roswell, GA

misscc803 is offline
I found a guy that customizes mac mini and he can put 7200rpm drives in verses the 5400rpm. I will see how that goes. Thanks for all the info/input.

Nicole
#144
10th February 2013
Old 10th February 2013
  #144
Gear addict
 
Joined: Aug 2007

ThisIsSka is online now
Quote:
Originally Posted by vudoo View Post
My mini has the Fusion drive....it's fast!!!!
How fast is the standard HD part of the fusion drive? I'm thinking of getting a Mac mini myself and the fusion drive looks interesting.
#145
10th February 2013
Old 10th February 2013
  #145
Lives for gear
 
BIGBANGBUZZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 747

BIGBANGBUZZ is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt82aust View Post
They are quite a bargain. I have the same model as Mark, using it for simple tv series and complicated short form work. It absolutely nailed a very full on spot which had many many many tracks of sound design, virtual instruments, music mix and sound design mix whilst playing back HD video consistently with client in the room

HAL 30 SEC LAUNCH Promo on Vimeo

I have it sitting in a sonnet rack with a few hard drives in the spare side. It does get noisy however when pushing a session hard. I plan to run all hard drives (system, working, SFX) externally in the future to see if that helps with the fan noise. But combined with a blackmagic thunderbolt card, and some euphonix faders, is a great set up
Nice promo, sounds good on air too, do you do much work for fox sports? Was the virtual instruments used in the music mix?


Sent from my GT-N7000
#146
5th March 2013
Old 5th March 2013
  #146
Gear interested
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2

MrSAS is offline
Guys, Is anybody running new Mac Mini Server with PT 10?
What system do you use there?
#147
7th March 2013
Old 7th March 2013
  #147
Gear addict
 
matt82aust's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 407

matt82aust is online now
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGBANGBUZZ View Post
Nice promo, sounds good on air too, do you do much work for fox sports? Was the virtual instruments used in the music mix?


Sent from my GT-N7000
Thanks! Bits and pieces really, moreso stuff that comes from the music production side leading into sound design. I believe the composer (Justin Shave of Uncanny Valley) used both VIs and live instruments / vocals. We then took all tracks into the sound design session (as audio files) for quite a large mix. The mini did pretty well considering the amount of processing going on, but was hitting the limits at the end of it!
#148
4th May 2013
Old 4th May 2013
  #148
Gear Head
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 48

UnFraGile is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henchman View Post
And if you want to use HD cards, there are several thunderbolt chassis availabel that are cheaper than the old expansion chassis.
The "old" HD PCIe cards don't work with the thunderbolt chassis.

Avid, I'd love to get my HD3 with a MacMini.

Marco

Last edited by UnFraGile; 12th June 2013 at 10:44 PM.. Reason: Trade HD3 for an HDNative Thunderbolt + OMNI
#149
12th June 2013
Old 12th June 2013
  #149
Gear Head
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 48

UnFraGile is offline
I'm waiting fo the new Mac Mini refresh to buy one and use with Avid HDNative TB and PTHD11.

One thing I can't decide and I need some advice from you guys-

What about External Storage?

I'm think in buying one dual dock USB 3.0 to use my old HDDs that I've kept from my Old Mac Pro.

But for daily purposes. What do you prefer?

Thank You

Regards,

Marco
#150
12th June 2013
Old 12th June 2013
  #150
Gear Head
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 48

UnFraGile is offline
I'm waiting fo the new Mac Mini refresh to buy one and use with Avid HDNative TB and PTHD11.

One thing I can't decide and I need some advice from you guys-

What about External Storage?

I'm think in buying one dual dock USB 3.0 to use my old HDDs that I've kept from my Old Mac Pro.

But for daily purposes. What do you prefer?

Thank You

Regards,

Marco
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
severe / Music Computers
28
Cosmonauta / Music Computers
9
Seek / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
14

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.