New Reply
Subscribe
tcmoistboy1
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Gear interested

Problems bouncing documentary....

Hey guys,

First, let me start by apologizing for such a long post. I'm more of a music guy. I am a very seasoned engineer, though I've only done very limited bits of post work (a cartoon pilot - mixed through Digital Performer before I got PT, & a couple other small things) . Somehow, I just kinda happened upon mixing this 60-minute documentary through some colleagues of mine.

I've been searching through the forums to make sure I'm not asking a question for the 100th time, & I can't seem to find any definite answer in regards to any posts with semi-similar sounding issues.

Anyways, here goes....Long story long....Apparently all of my bounces that I'm sending to the client are coming into them way different than the way I'm hearing them (the way I'm hearing the actual bounces - not the differences between what's being heard from mix to bounce). I've turned in several up to this point. They're all being setup proper (or at least I think they are - proper source selected, WAV interleaved, session bit depth & sample rate 24/48, convert during bounce). Does this all look correct?

There have been some audio only bounces & some QT bounces. I was told the original dithered QT bounce sounded "boxy & modulated." I made some adjustments, remixed & did new bounces. I was told that those bounces are "pretty much unlistenable." They said that all are coming through still "modulated," as well as "way too loud & distorted." They said it sounds like something's wrong - very obvious. I told them that by the way they're describing it, it sounds like a clock issue to me & that the problem could be on their end of things..Does this sound like the issue?